Public Document Pack



	MSDC ANNUAL COUNCIL
DATE:	MONDAY, 22 MAY 2023 5.30 PM
VENUE:	KING EDMUND CHAMBER, ENDEAVOUR HOUSE, 8 RUSSELL ROAD, IPSWICH

For consideration at the meeting on Monday, 22 MAY 2023, the following additional or updated papers that were unavailable when the Agenda was printed.

TABLED PAPERS

		Page(s)
10	MC/23/3 POLITICAL BALANCE AND COMPOSITION OF COMMITTEES	3 - 6
	Monitoring Officer	
12	MC/23/4 APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES FOR 2023/24	7 - 8
	Leader of the Council	
14	APPOINTMENT OF COUNCILLORS TO THE SHARED REVENUES PARTNERSHIP JOINT COMMITTEE	9 - 10
	The Director of Law and Governance to report that, in accordance with the joint arrangements established with Babergh District Council and Ipswich Borough Council, Council is asked to appoint	

The political balance rules do not apply to Mid Suffolk's appointees.

Committee for the current municipal year.

two Cabinet Members and two substitutes to serve on the

15 APPOINTMENTS TO THE SUFFOLK JOINT STANDARDS 11 - 12 BOARD

The Director of Law and Governance to report that, in accordance with the joint arrangements established with Babergh District Council and Suffolk County Council, Council is asked to appoint three Councillors to serve on the Board for the current municipal year.

The political balance rules do not apply to Mid Suffolk's appointees who cannot be:

- The Chairman of the Council
- Members of the Cabinet

16 APPOINTMENTS TO THE JOINT GYPSY AND TRAVELLER 13 - 14 STEERING GROUP

Council is asked to appoint four Councillors to the Joint Gypsy and Traveller Steering Group for the current municipal year.

17 APPOINTMENTS TO COUNCIL WORKING GROUPS

15 - 16

Council is asked to appoint Councillors to the following Working Groups:

- Community Governance Review Working Group
- Constitution Working Group
- Member Learning & Development Working Group
- Local Plan Working Group

For more information about this meeting, including access arrangements and facilities for people with disabilities, please contact the Committee Officer, Committee Services on: 01473 296472 or Email: Committees@baberghmidsuffolk.gov.uk

Mid Suffolk District Council - Allocation of Committee Placements 2023-24

COMMITTEES	NO. OF SEATS	GREEN (24			RVATIVE UP 6		GROUP 1
OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY	6	4.23	4	1.05	1	0.70	1
JOINT AUDIT AND STANDARDS	5	3.52	3	0.88	1	0.58	1
PLANNING COMMITTEE	8	5.65	6	1.41	1	0.94	1
LICENSING & REGULATORY	10	7.05	7	1.76	2	1.17	1
JOINT APPOINTMENTS	3	2.11	2	0.52	1	0.35	0
TOTAL TARGET	32	22.56	22	5.62	6	3.74	4

This page is intentionally left blank

APPENDIX B TO PAPER MC/23/3

MSDC COMPOSITION OF COMMITTEES

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

Green	Conservative	Lib Dem
Terence Carter	James Caston	Keith Scarff
Janet Pearson		
Ross Piper		
Miles Row		

JOINT AUDIT AND STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Green	Conservative	Lib Dem
Austin Davies	John Whitehead	Adrienne Marriott
John Matthissen		
James Patchett		

PLANNING COMMITTEE

Green	Conservative	Lib Dem
Austin Davies	Lavinia Hadingham	Terry Lawrence
Lucy Elkin		
Nicholas Hardingham		
Sarah Mansel		
John Matthissen		
Rowland Warboys		

LICENSING & REGULATORY COMMITTEE

Green	Conservative	Lib Dem
David Bradbury	Anders Linder	Nicky Willshere
Terence Carter	Gilly Morgan	
David Napier		
Jen Overett		
Dan Pratt		
Andrew Stringer		
Oliver Walters		

JOINT APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE

Green	Conservative
Rachel Eburne	John Whitehead
Andrew Mellen	



Appendix A to Paper MC/23/4

MID SUFFOLK DISTRICT COUNCIL APPOINTMENTS OF REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE BODIES/PARTNERSHIPS 2023/24

NAME OF BODY OR PANEL	NUMBER OF REPRESENTATIVES TO BE APPOINTED	NAME OF MEMBER NOMINATED
Armed Forces Covenant		James Patchett Armed Forces Champion
ASSOCIATION FOR SUFFOLK MUSEUMS	1	
3 x annum weekday a.m. at Suffolk museums	Management Committee Member	Ollie Walters
EAST OF ENGLAND ASSEMBLY OF LEADERS	1 (Leader)	The Leader
EAST OF ENGLAND LOCAL GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION		
1 x per annum am/pm at local authority venues across East England	1	The Leader
EAST SUFFOLK WATER MANAGEMENT BOARD	1	TBC
EAST WEST MAIN LINE PARTNERSHIP	1	David Bradbury
FAMILIES TOGETHER SUFFOLK	1	Lavinia Hadingham - TBC
8 - 12 x per annum a.m.		
IPSWICH STRATEGIC PLANNING AREA BOARD	1 (+ 1 substitute)	Andrew Stringer (Sub: TBC)
4 x per annum p.m. in Ipswich		-,
LOCAL GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION – SPARSE	1	The Leader Observer – John Whitehead
LOCAL GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION ASSEMBLY Annual meeting	1 The Leader	The Leader
3 x per annum daytime LGA London and at Rural Conference Venues	i ine Leader	The Leader

NAME OF BODY OR PANEL	NUMBER OF REPRESENTATIVES TO BE APPOINTED	NAME OF MEMBER NOMINATED
SUFFOLK FLOOD RISK MANAGEMENT SCRUTINY SUB COMMITTEE 2 X annum various locations	1 (+ 1 substitute)	James Patchett (Sub: TBC)
SUFFOLK HEALTH AND WELLBEING BOARD	1 (+ 1 substitute) full voting rights	Tim Weller
6 x per annum at Ipswich or Bury St Edmunds a.m. and p.m.	Note: rep cannot also be a rep on the Health Scrutiny Board	(Sub: Teresa Davis)
	1 (+ 1 substitute)	
SUFFOLK HEALTH SCRUTINY COMMITTEE	Note: rep cannot also be a rep on the Health and Wellbeing Board	Terence Carter (Sub: Miles Row)
SUFFOLK JOINT EMERGENCY PLANNING POLICY PANEL	1	James Patchett
SUFFOLK POLICE AND CRIME PANEL	1 Places are allocated by SCC Countywide on a political basis. (Green Member for MSDC)	Sarah Mansel (Sub: TBC)
SUFFOLK VIOLENCE AND ABUSE PARTNERSHIP	1 Trustee	Jen Overett
SUFFOLK WASTE PARTNERSHIP (SWP) 4 x per annum a.m.	1	Teresa Davis
WESTERN SUFFOLK COMMUNITY SAFETY PARTNERSHIP (WSCSP) 4 x per annum a.m. various locations on a rotational basis	1 Voting rights (+ 1 Sub)	TBC (Sub: TBC)

MSDC ANNUAL COUNCIL - 22 MAY 2023

ITEM 14 – APPOINTMENTS TO THE SHARED REVENUES PARTNERSHIP JOINT COMMITTEE

Rachel Eburne	Teresa Davis (sub)
Richard Winch	Tim Weller (sub)



MSDC ANNUAL COUNCIL - 22 MAY 2023

ITEM 15 - APPOINTMENTS TO THE SUFFOLK JOINT STANDARDS BOARD

Lucy Elkin
TBC
TBC



MSDC ANNUAL COUNCIL - 22 MAY 2023

ITEM 16 - APPOINTMENTS TO THE JOINT GYPSY AND TRAVELLER STEERING GROUP

Dave Penny	TBC
Miles Row	TBC



MSDC ANNUAL COUNCIL - 22 MAY 2023

ITEM 17 - APPOINTMENTS TO COUNCIL WORKING GROUPS

COMMUNITY GOVERNANCE REVIEW WORKING GROUP

Miles Row	Anders Linder
Rowland Warboys	TBC

CONSTITUTION WORKING GROUP

Rachel Eburne	John Whitehead
John Matthissen	TBC

MEMBER LEARNING & DEVELOPMENT WORKING GROUP

Janet Pearson	Gilly Morgan
Ross Piper	TBC

LOCAL PLAN WORKING GROUP

Sarah Mansel	James Caston
Andrew Stringer	TBC

